Who are the NFAS?

Ye Olde Delph LogoNFAS logo

The NFAS / National Field Archery Society exists to foster and promote Field Archery as a sport. All courses are unmarked (i.e. unknown distances), usually situated in woodland, and targets are predominantly 3D or paper animal faces. There are eleven shooting styles within the society:

  • Primitive
  • Longbow
  • American Flatbow (AFB)
  • Compound Limited
  • Hunting Tackle (HT)
  • Barebow
  • Traditional Bowhunter (TBH)
  • Crossbow
  • Freestyle
  • Bowhunter
  • Compound Unlimited
  • Thumb Draw (TD)
  • Each of these styles are then split into one of six age groups, otherwise known as 'Classes':

  • Gents
  • Ladies
  • Junior Boys
  • Junior Girls
  • Under-12s (Cub) Boys
  • Under-12s (Cub) Girls
  • On a standard round an archer will shoot until they score, up to a maximum of three arrows. Arrows are shot from the following pegs:

  • Adults: Red, White, Blue
  • Juniors (14/15): White, Blue, Blue
  • Juniors (12/13): Blue, Yellow, Yellow
  • Under 12s: Yellow, Yellow, Yellow
  • Under 9s: Orange, Orange, Orange
  • Shoots are held throughout the year all over the country, and the NFAS host two championship events: 3D Champs & National Champs. More information can be found on the NFAS website.

    NFAS Rules and procedures
    Upcoming Shoots